India’s Favorite season – IPL season!

The 12 th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL, 2019) began on 23 rd March and will be on till mid May. It is a professional Twenty 20 cricket league established by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). It consists of 8 teams which represent 8 major cities in India. These teams compete against each other in a month long battle and finally a winner emerges. Players are selected by the team owners via a auction wherein they bid for the players of their choice. Jayadev Unadkat, an ace bowler was bought by Rajasthan Royals for the highest amount this year, which was 8.4 crore.

The last year’s winners were Chennai Super Kings who are looking very strong this year as well. Under
MS Dhoni’s captaincy they have won all the 3 matches they played so far and stand first in the points
table. Dhoni, who also the former Indian captain is a crowd favourite. The match his team played on 30 th
March against Rajasthan Royals was exceptionally note worthy where Dhoni was scored 75 runs of 46

The Hyderabad Sunrisers stand second on the points table and are also the last year’s runners up. They
beat Royal Challengers Bangalore with 113 runs which is biggest victory for Sunrisers under Bhuwaneshwar Kumar’s captaincy. David Warner, a key batsman for the Sunrisers missed last year’s IPL
but is back with a bang. He scored a century in the match against Bangalore and is the leading run
scorer this year.

IPL is a great platform for young players to showcase their talent. Prayas Ray Barman has become the
youngest player to make IPL debut after Bangalore included him in their team.

Share this :

Comments are closed.